Remove from System

What

The "Remove from System" command is what you might remember from the native FileWave admin as "Delete", and it has the same consequences.  But, in the native admin Delete was the same for the original object and the copies, even though the result was different.  The WebAdmin has split this into two commands to help clarify.

When/Why

The "Remove from System" command entirely (and destructively) removes a device and all of its copies from the system.  Any payloads through deployments will be lost, and all inventory from this object will be removed from the system.  In the case of an MDM-enrolled device, the deletion acts as an unenroll and can not be reversed. The model has to be updated in order to fully remove the device from the system.

An un-enrol will be triggered, only if the following FileWave Central preference is enabled:

      Preferences > Mobile > 'Remove MDM profile from devices removed from FileWave model'

This preference will send a command to remove the enrolment profile, which should be honored by devices, even if the enrolment profile is configured to be non-removable in DEP settings.

For client devices, they will check in again as long as a client remains installed but has to be onboarded again.

Note; Remove from System is a destructive command, and should only be done when you are certain.

How

To perform this action, choose "Remove from System" from the Device action menu (...) and Update Model when finished.


Revision #3
Created 10 July 2023 20:26:41 by Josh Levitsky
Updated 28 September 2023 14:00:38 by Emma Ainsworth