What is the difference between Revert and Restore?

Problem

Let's figure out the difference between revert and restore and when we need to use them.

Something has happened and you want to take a step back.

Maybe you have noticed under the Server menu → "Revert to Last Model"

revert.png

and in the command line there is a: 

sudo fwcontrol server restore [version]

Remember: when you open the FileWave Central admin we are making changes to a future model.

Resolution

Revert:

Is like a typical revert you would see in a document editor and takes things back to the last saved state.

Let's say I opened my FileWave Admin and the model was currently 10 (Any changes I would be making in the FW Admin would become model 11 once I applied it by updating the model).

So I make a fileset called "My Fileset A" delete a fileset called "Old Fileset B", and change an association for "Fileset C" from being to a "Group 1" to "Group 2"

At this point – if I did select "Revert to Last Model" from the server menu – It would undo everything I did by going back to the currently deployed model 10.

IF however, I updated the model to 11 and realized I made a mistake, a revert isn't going to help me out there. As it would be reverting to 11

Restore: 

Restore is not a Revert but has the ability to jump back to previous models. Taking the same story from above;

Let's say I opened my FileWave Admin and the model was currently 10 (Any changes I would be making in the FW Admin would become model 11 once I applied it by updating the model).

So I make a fileset called "My Fileset A" delete a fileset called "Old Fileset B", and change an association for "Fileset C" from being to a "Group 1" to "Group 2"

If however, I updated the model to 11 and realized I made a mistake. I can restore model 10 by doing

sudo fwcontrol server restore 10

The server only keeps the last 20 models.

After the command finished:

Restoring a previous model will not unerase a removed fileset. You need your backups for that.

Additional Information

Often if you make a big enough mistake, it is better to just contact support and have them help you get back to where you need to be.


Revision #1
Created 22 June 2023 20:32:23 by Josh Levitsky
Updated 13 July 2023 22:19:52 by Josh Levitsky