Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

What

What are default revisions?  An excellent question indeed.  Default revisions are a way of marking a specific revision of a fileset as the "default", regardless of what it is called.  Keep reading, and you'll see how very useful this is, and how our great developers try to make your job easier on an everyday basis.

When/Why

We are going to use our example again of v79 and v80 of Mozilla Firefox.  Assume for a moment that we have v79 assigned to all devices right now in two associations as shown below:.:

Image Removed

If you'll look closely, you'll see that the "Production" group has an association to the revision <default> (v79) and the "Beta Testers" group is associated to v79.  Effectively, this is exactly the same for both groups...v79 is installed.  But, let's take a look below at what happens when we want to upgrade to v80 in the environment.

How

We aren't just going to assign v80 to all devices right away...as always, we want to test first, so with our patch testers group we'll edit their association as follows:

Image Removed

Once we save this association and update the model, all patch testers will get the new version.  No deleting of the association or creating a new one is required.

Now, assume that all testing goes well, and we are ready to release to production.  Now, we could edit the association for "production", but assume for a second that we had ten such associations...would we want to edit all ten of them?  In a word, no.  But, if you remember, the association above to production was not v79, but rather Default v79...which means the association is just to the "default" revision of the fileset.

So, we can simply edit the properties of the fileset itself and change the "default" to v80 instead.

Image Removed

Once we save that change, and update the model, you'll see the change reflected in the association:

Image Removed

And, upon next check-in, all "Production" devices will upgrade to v80.

...

トピック

デフォルトのリビジョンとは何でしょうか?実に良い質問です。デフォルトのリビジョンは、それがどんな名称であろうともファイルセットの特定のリビジョンを「デフォルト」とマークする方法の一つです。先を読んでいただければ、それがどれだけ便利なものか、そして日常的な作業を一段と簡便なものとするため弊社の優れた開発者が努力していることがおわかりになると思います。

時期/理由

Mozilla Firefox の v79 と v80 を再び例として用います。以下に示されるように 2 つのアソシエーションにおいて現在 v79 がすべてのデバイスに割り当てられていると少しの間仮定してみてください。

Image Added

よく見ると、「プロダクション」グループがリビジョン<デフォルト> (v79) のリビジョンへのアソシエーションを持ち、「ベータ・テスター」グループが v79 に関連付けられていることがわかると思います。実質的には、これは両方のグループにとってまったく同じことで v79 がインストールされます。しかし、以下において当該環境において v80 にアップグレードしたい場合にどうなるかを見てみましょう。

具体例

単に v80 を迅速にすべてのデバイスへ割り当てるのではありません。通例どおり、まずテストします。それゆえパッチテスターのグループによりアソシエーションを以下のように編集します。

Image Added

このアソシエーションを保存してモデルを更新すると、すべてのパッチテスターが新規バージョンを取得します。アソシエーションの削除や新規のものの作成は必要ありません。

今度は、すべてのテストが成功し、プロダクションへのリリースの準備が整っていると仮定します。ここで「プロダクション」のためにアソシエーションを編集することができますが、このようなアソシエーションが 10 個あると仮定してみてください。これら 10 個すべてを編集したいと思いますか?そうは思わないでしょう。しかし振り返ってみればプロダクションへの上記のアソシエーションは v79 ではありません。つまり、このアソシエーションはファイルセットの「デフォルト」のリビジョンのみを対象としているということなのです。

それゆえファイルセット自体のプロパティを端的に編集して「デフォルト」を v80 へ変更することができます。

Image Added

この変更を保存してモデルを更新した後、アソシエーションに変更が反映されているのを以下のとおり確認することができます。

Image Added

また次のチェックインにおいて、すべての「プロダクション」デバイスが v80 にアップグレードされます。

Tip

弊社はバージョンごとのこうした移行のタイミングに対処していますので、移行のタイミングについては心配する必要がないということを覚えておいてください。


Panel
titleRelated Content

Children Display
pageKB:日本語 - Managing Revisions (v14+)

...