Skip to main content

Forcing Wiped ChromeOS Devices to Re-enroll

What

Forced re-enrollment keeps a wiped ChromeOS device managed by the same Google organization. With automatic re-enrollment, users do not need to enter credentials after the wipe. ChromeOS Flex supports forced re-enrollment beginning with ChromeOS 131, but Flex devices always require user credentials after a wipe.

forced-reenroll-chrome.png

When/Why

Don’t force ChromeOS devices that are used in developer mode to re-enroll. Instead, put them in a different organizational unit and turn off forced re-enrollment for that organization. If a ChromeOS device is no longer going to be managed by your account, you should deprovision the device. For the full removal path, see Removing ChromeOS / Chromebook devices.

How

For convenience we've included Google's documentation below from: Force wiped ChromeOS devices to re-enroll - Chrome Enterprise and Education Help (google.com)

Turn forced re-enrollment on or off

  1. Use an administrator account with the Mobile Device Management administrator privilege.

  2. In the Admin console, go to Menu and then Devicesand thenChromeand thenSettingsand thenDevice settings.
  3. To apply the setting to all devices, leave the top organizational unit selected. Otherwise, select a child organizational unit.
  4. Go to Enrollment and access.
  5. Configure the Forced re-enrollment setting:
    • Force device to automatically re-enroll after wiping—Wiped ChromeOS devices automatically re-enroll without user credentials. This option does not apply to ChromeOS Flex devices.
    • Force device to re-enroll with user credentials after wiping—Users must manually re-enroll ChromeOS or ChromeOS Flex devices into your account.
    • Do not force device to re-enroll after wiping—Users can use ChromeOS or ChromeOS Flex devices without re-enrolling them into your account.
  6. Click Save.

Settings typically take effect within minutes, but it might take up to an hour to propagate through your organization.

If automatic re-enrollment fails, the device prompts the user to select Enroll manually. ChromeOS devices that do not support automatic re-enrollment, along with ChromeOS Flex devices, also prompt for manual re-enrollment.